Read through the code reviews of each of your direct reports. I want to share timely and strategic information so that you can make adequate progress for your job interviews. I will list only 3 books here for you to get started. Current role: Senior Engineering Manager at Google for Places API. You still need to be able to walk the talk and a big part of Engineering Leadership is the ability to be technically acute. The second stage is an in-person interview. Most interviews for the tech giants for my level were completely coding/algorithms oriented since I did not have a lot of experience in the industry just yet. Why I studied full-time for 8 months for a Google interview My well-worn whiteboard, adorned with Dijkstra’s single-source shortest-paths algorithm. in Electrical Engineering from IIT Roorkee. However, happy to share with you some of the things that I was helped with prior to my own interview. Google Interview: Engineering Manager. Google Interview: Engineering Manager; You’re the captain of a pirate ship, and your crew gets to vote on how the gold is divided up. This job may have been taken down. There are other resources I will list along the way in my articles which helped hone the leader in me. I was also looking for expanding and generalizing my lessons a bit. I'm actually surprised, because if you're already on track for an interview, then you would have been helped by your recruiter. Amazon has published the famous leadership principles, which I think are great guiding pointers for someone who wants to be known as a great manager. Current role: Senior Engineering Manager at Google for Places API. How to crack Google and Facebook’s software engineering interviews. Depending on how much project management you do vs. personnel management, there is Cracking the PM Interview by the same author (though possibly ghostwritten).. General personnel management probably involves more general management interview questions, for which I'm sure a million books ha